In late 2008 Team KATUSHA was created by Igor Makarov as the first Russian cycling team licensed to compete at the highest level of cycling in the UCI WorldTour, formerly known as the ProTour.  Mr. Makarov is the president of ARETI International Group of Companies and a member of the UCI Management Committee. 


Starting with the first racing season of 2009, UCI ProTour Team KATUSHA took its place among the elite of professional cycling and continues this day to produce the winning mindset associated with the team.

During Team KATUSHA’s eight seasons from 2009-2016 at the highest level of cycling competition, the team has won 217 races along with 384 podium places, establishing the team as one of the three best professional cycling teams worldwide in 2012, 2013 and 2015, placing second in 2012 and 2015, as well as third in 2013 in the UCI WorldTour team’s ranking. In 2016 the team finished sixth.

For Team KATUSHA, 2016 was another successful season. In ten months KATUSHA’s riders won 25 races and scored 65 podium places in all. Both Ilnur Zakarin and Alexander Kristoff placed in the top 15 of the UCI WorldTour Individual rankings. In addition, Team KATUSHA showed strength in the grand tours, with stage victories in the Giro d’Italia, Tour de France and Vuelta a España.

2017 sees the ninth season of the WorldTour Team as KATUSHA ALPECIN. Last year marked a change in direction to build an international cycling team as well as a lifestyle brand and the team continues to move in this progressive direction. Hand-in-hand with the cycling program, KATUSHA Sports is an innovative program of lifestyle and cycling clothing, created and tested with input from the riders themselves. KATUSHA Events brings cycling fans to exclusive places before, during and after Pro cycling races.



Top results


Victories (25)

Alexander Kristoff won stages 2, 4 and 5 at Tour of Qatar

Alexander Kristoff won stages 3 and 6 at Tour of Oman

Ilnur Zakarin won stage 6 of Paris-Nice

Alexey Tsatevich won stage 7 at Volta Ciclista a Catalunya

Viacheslav Kuznetsov took 3rd place at Gent Wevelgem

Alexander Kristoff won stage 1 at Driedaagse De Panne-Koksijde

Anton Vorobyev won stage 2nd and 3rd in Circuit Cycliste Sarthe

Alexander Kristoff won Rund um der Eschborn-Frankfurt

Rein Taaramäe won stage 20 in the Giro d’Italia

Alexander Kristoff won stage 7 in the Tour of California

Rein Taaramäe won stage 2 in Tour de Slovenie

Aleksandr Porsev won stage 4 in Tour de Slovenie

Rein Taaramäe won overall GC in Tour de Slovenie

Sergei Chernetckii won Russian National Championships (I.T.T.)

Pavel Kochetkov won Russian National Championships (R.R.)

Ilnur Zakarin won stage 17 in Tour de France

Sergey Lagutin won stage 8 in Vuelta a España

Alexander Kristoff won stage 1 in Artic Race of Norway

Alexander Kristoff won stages 2, 3 and 5 plus overall GC in Tour des Fjords